PDA

View Full Version : HELP with PartWorks 3D (Cut 3D)

jfortenbery
12-31-2010, 11:26 AM
I'm pretty skilled w/ Partworks (Cut 2D). I'm brand new to Partworks 3D. I'm trying to project curves or arcs onto a 3D model. I then want to cut them like pockets, in that they don't extend from edge to edge and they will be cut the exact width of my end mill (.023 in).

Is there a function in Partworks 3D to do this ... or must I make the change in my model (Rhino). The problem there is it took me FOREVER to make the model. It would take me FOREVER and a day to figure out how to make the pockets.

I'm cutting fret slots in a fingerboard which is tapered and has a compound radius on the top surface.

Thanks in advance,
Jeff

Tony Mac
12-31-2010, 06:03 PM
Hello Jeff,

PartWorks 3D is not the solution for the type of toolpaths you require.

You need to be looking at Aspire / software that allows 2D geometry
to be projected onto an underlying 3D shape. You may require these
toolpaths to be wrapped and not projected onto the 3D surface, and
if this is the case then Aspire is not the answer.

For reference - PartWorks is identical to VCarve Pro - not Cut2D

Good luck with the project.

Tony

jfortenbery
01-01-2011, 12:53 PM
Thanks, Tony! Your response saved me a lot of time ... trying to find and answer that I apparently won't! the info regarding VCarve Pro is helpful too.

Not familiar with the term "wrapping" the toolpaths. Does that mean to create the vectors in the cad (Rhino) and then toolpath with the cam (PW 3D)?

Thanks,
Jeff

Tony Mac
01-01-2011, 02:10 PM
Thanks, Tony! Your response saved me a lot of time ... trying to find and answer that I apparently won't! the info regarding VCarve Pro is helpful too.

Not familiar with the term "wrapping" the toolpaths. Does that mean to create the vectors in the cad (Rhino) and then toolpath with the cam (PW 3D)?

Thanks,
Jeff

Jeff,

Difficult to explain but lets give this a go.