PDA

View Full Version : L20 Milling from gang-tools



Ovrclck350
11-24-2010, 12:19 PM
Is there any coding that will allow me to mill from the top of the part with normal G2/G3 non-diameter coding?

We use Mastercam for our mill operations out here and do all our Swiss programming manually. For 99% of our parts that works great, but we have a handful of parts that we need to do some top mill work with interpolation. This gets to be a PITA when it comes to setting up the G2/G3's correctly. My other option is to get a post processor for Mastercam written to spit the code out properly but I'm hesitant to do so until I'm sure there's no other option (other than manually doing all the converting).

cogsman1
11-24-2010, 12:29 PM
G12.1 (Milling Interpolation) is usually used to compensate for an axis you do not have but when in this mode ALL commands are radial even "X". Try this for your application.
G13.1 cancels G12.1
Everything in between those must be radial.

Ovrclck350
11-24-2010, 02:23 PM
I've used G12.1 for milling on the 30 tools, would it function the same from above the part?

How do I turn it on to turn Z/Y into X/Y, with Z (not X) being my depth?

PoiToi
11-24-2010, 06:40 PM
Yes, you will use G12.1, right after use a G19 to change your plane from X-Z to Y-Z .

G16- Plane select y-Z Cylindrical machining.
G17- Plane select X-Y
G18- Plane select X-Z normally used. G18 is when power on.
G19- Plane select Y-Z

This should work. :)

Ovrclck350
11-30-2010, 02:16 PM
Thanks, I'll try it out when I get a chance.

cbr_speedster
01-23-2011, 06:04 PM
You need to get Esprit for the swiss, it's awesome.