View Full Version : Need Help! stepper motors from a printer/scanner

Gerbrand Nel
11-11-2010, 02:11 AM
Hi guys
My name is Gerbrand, and I've been lurking on this forum for a while now. My goal is to build my own little engraving machine to be used for knife making. At the moment the knife making hobby is costing me a pretty penny so I'd like to build this machine as cheap as possible. It seems like stepper motors and controllers are the most expensive parts on a cnc, so I would like to see if I can salvage these from old printers. The problem is that I have very little knowledge of electronics. I have a old HP psc1215 printer/scanner ( HP PSC 1215 All-in-One Printer - HP Customer Care (United States - English) (http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/product?product=412187&lc=en&cc=us&dlc=en&lang=en&tmp_track_link=ot_we/prodlink/en_us/412187/loc:0&cc=us) )and would like to know if someone could instruct me on how to get the motors and whatever else I might need, out of it.
I hope this is the right place to ask this. If not, feel free to move this post

11-11-2010, 07:36 AM
Printers usually only have one decent stepper, on older printers. Newer printers have faster running, less accurate steppers. They use, and depend on, the encoder strip for accuracy. Some of the newer printers also use optical sensors for alignment, since a fact of printing is that there is always an unprinted edge to watch. (Think of optical mice following your desk surface as an encoder.)

Back to the subject...

Yes, you can use some printer steppers for a CNC. The best motors come from old dot-matrix printers, the paper-feed motors. Newer printers only have to move light printer-cartridges, and paper-feeding is done with a normal DC motor and a line-advance encoder. If there is a stepper motor, it will have a difficult time moving it's own weight, but it can advance a single sheet of paper quite well.