PDA

View Full Version : USING a UPS



jmk1ssell
11-03-2010, 11:35 AM
Is it a good idea or bad idea to use an uninteruptable powersupply on a CNC router system?

neutronics
11-03-2010, 12:35 PM
I can't say it would be a bad idea to use on the computer so you don't lose data during an unscheduled shutdown. However, the output of most household-variety UPSs is pretty limited and probably won't support the load of a spindle motor.

jmk1ssell
11-03-2010, 12:46 PM
Sorry, did not think about spindle. I was not planning on using it on the spindle, just stepper motors and drivers.

neutronics
11-03-2010, 01:04 PM
Just to play devil's advocate... if you lose power, and the spindles stop, but your servos keep going... isn't that a Very Bad Thing? ;-)

osiervt
11-04-2010, 03:02 PM
Just to play devil's advocate... if you lose power, and the spindles stop, but your servos keep going... isn't that a Very Bad Thing? ;-)

Just an idea, but he could use a relay inline with one of his limit switches. This relay would be a normally Closed relay. Hook the relay up so when the alarm of the UPS goes off it picks up the relay and 'trips' a limit switch thus stopping the steppers while still allowing him to keep the break out board and such on his UPS.