PDA

View Full Version : How hard to build 3 axis Router.



preciseformwork
10-24-2010, 06:08 PM
Hi all, new to this forum and am considering building my own cnc router. Many, many guides out there on how to build ones own cnc router like here CNC Router Source: The Ultimate Information Resource (http://www.cncroutersource.com/).
Ideally I would be able to build something like this YouTube - RobotCNC's Channel (http://www.youtube.com/profile?user=RobotCNC#p/u/15/1JcvCZFG0L0) but there doesn't seem to be too many of these out there and I'm guessing it's cutting edge technology. Is it far harder the more axis used? I thought there would be no greater than 3d but realised now that 4d is with a rotating spindle. How many axis is possible?
I didn't think any coding would be neccessary on most of these kits as the software handles most I guess.
Is the arm far more advanced?? Mine would not need to be on a slider like that.

ger21
10-24-2010, 06:15 PM
A 3 axis router is pretty easy.

An 8 axis one like in the YouTube link is a lot harder. Probably at least a half million dollars, too.

preciseformwork
10-24-2010, 06:19 PM
Thanks for your reply, I think to have this professional make one like this is about £200K.
I'm not after the sliding feature, it would only be an arm, but rotating on a few axis'.
So it sounds like more axis is going to be a lot harder (nuts) - shame.
I think I'll go for making my 3 axis one first. After creating a 3 axis, do you think I would be able to attempt an 8 axis - if not what would be a good project after 3 axis?
thanks

mcphill
10-24-2010, 06:53 PM
A 3 axis router is pretty easy.

An 8 axis one like in the YouTube link is a lot harder. Probably at least a half million dollars, too.

Can be done for MUCH less...

Used Industrial Robots sales and purchases: ABB, KUKA, FANUC available at Global Robots Ltd (http://www.robotsltd.co.uk/)

CAD - CAM Robot Solution, generating robot paths direct from CAD files. (http://globalrobots.com/index.php/robot-cad-cam.htm)

YouTube - Cheap Industrial Robot machining direct from CAD information.

preciseformwork
10-24-2010, 07:11 PM
Thanks mcphil, great links.

preciseformwork
10-25-2010, 11:09 AM
Sorry for silly questions; with a 3-axis router what is the maximum that you could build for the z-axis. I would've thought you could go pretty deep.
The reason I ask is that I would've thought you could almost get away creating 3d things on a 3-axis by machining one face, then turning it 180˚ and continuing with a seperate file - if you check out here most of it is done flat YouTube - Sculpting a Womans Face.
Another basic question: with this video machining a pumpkin YouTube - Carving Pumpkins how does the machine know the size of the pumpking etc, as it's different measurements everywhere. Does the machine scan it first then adapt it's file to suit the pumpking layout?

mcphill
10-25-2010, 01:29 PM
As high as your imagination and mechanical aptitude can make it, there is no "defined" limit on any axis length...