PDA

View Full Version : Solidworks to 2d plywood sheet, or do I need a different CAD

jimdaug
09-23-2010, 08:00 PM
Hi guys,

I'm wanting to build myself a small (1ft x 2ft) router/engraver machine. I made an assembly of the main pieces in SolidWorks so I could see how it all fits together. Now I can't quite figure out how to get them laid out to either print for me to cut and drill, or send to someone with a cnc router to do the cuts. I was able to put each part into one sheet of a drawing, it's nice that they update, but it's a pain to arrange them on the sheet. The drawing views get hard to select when they're close together. And when I save the file as a DXF or Adobe Illustrator, all the center marks and dimensions get saved, so I'd have to go in and delete all the extraneous stuff I don't need.

I'm a computer graphics artist and I've just taken up electronics as a hobby. I've only used AutoCad at school for 1 semester several years ago. I'm not even sure if SolidWorks is the right program for the job.

Is there a CAD or CAD/CAM program around that you can build plywood or MDF assemblies with and then have it unfold it into a nested sheet? I attached a picture of where I'm at so far.

Thanks for any insight,

James

ger21
09-23-2010, 08:55 PM
Do a separate drawing for each part,

For me, it's faster to draw the parts in 2D.

This will do what you want I think, but, it runs in AutoCAD, and isn't cheap.
http://milllister.com/SmartLister.html

tpworks
09-23-2010, 10:24 PM
Dassault has a free 2d drawing program that has an Autocad feel, will open and save dwg dxf files.
http://www.3ds.com/products/draftsight/draftsight-overview/#vid1

CarbonKevin
09-24-2010, 12:05 AM
I've had luck doing multiple parts in SW.

Draw each part individually, then lay them out in an assembly.

Save the assembly as an STL - checking the option to save the entire assembly as a single STL file.