PDA

View Full Version : Reducing Gcode for simultation 4 axis



pinguS
08-08-2010, 03:02 PM
Hi

I was just playing around with the 4 axis post. And one thing I did notice was the length of code.

What I did was just use the 5axis operation, (parallel to curve) and few others on a ball shape (ish) around the 4th axis, using a lollipop cutter. When I output the gcode, its always using the @move_5x and @line_5x. Which makes it generate a hell of alot of code.

I was wondering, whether it is possible to make the output use one of the @arc procedures or similar, or is this just going to kill the system during calculation, and so has not been developed?

Maybe an option in solidcam before calculation, but I can't locate it. I was hoping it would be something similar to using cartezian, maybe....

pinguS
08-12-2010, 04:26 PM
I'm guessing that is a no.

Thought I'd ask

CNCRim
08-12-2010, 05:51 PM
I asked this question before and ..... up to date the answer is still NO.

Brakeman Bob
08-13-2010, 12:36 PM
I am afraid not. I keep waiting for SolidCAM to put the technology in for NURBS and the (if your control is up to it) complex 4 and 5 axis moves would be reduced to one line of code for one line of toolpath such as you suggest.

Mind you I have just had a thought, is there anything in the MAC to say whether arcs are allowed in 4th axis? I can't remember and I am not at my desk right now.