PDA

View Full Version : Capabilities of mini mill @ $2500

jl123
05-13-2005, 02:19 AM
Hello, I want to get into milling and am looking to buy a mini mill for around $2500US. I'd wondering what all a mini mill is capable of doing. I'm a newbie to this stuff. Will a mill cut all the way through a block or cut throught sheet metal or would I need a flojet or laser cutter?

Can a mini-mill do something like this (http://cs.clark.edu/%7Ejdeng0215/wb/DSC01956.JPG)?

I'm want to be able to mill copper and aluminum.

Thanks!

Com
05-13-2005, 06:32 AM
$2500 is more the enough, I own a mini mill that cost £250 new and it can cut aluminium etc, Im sure you will be able to cut somthing like that with a mini mill, although you will probably have to cnc the mill to get somthing like that made.

jl123
05-13-2005, 09:42 AM
Yeah I'm looking at a cnc mill. Know of a place to buy bits from?

JFettig
05-13-2005, 10:48 AM
For a cnc, depending on what exactly you want, that could be done, I buy a lot of my end mills from jtsmachine. Do you have experience with these machines?

Jon

jl123
05-13-2005, 11:03 AM
Nope, just getting into this. Just to simplify my reason for posting...what bits would I need to make something like in that picture I linked to?

WayneHill
05-13-2005, 12:40 PM
Can you give us more information about the part?
What is the size of the part and material?

Without specifics, Two larger endmills to do the roughing and finishing.
And two smaller endmills to rough and finish the details.

Drills for the holes. Can use an endmill for the counter bores.

And a good CAD/CAM system to make it all work :)

ViperTX
05-13-2005, 01:03 PM
Following Wayne....you'll need to CNC the mini-mill or whatever mill you use...depends on the size of the part and material type. At a minimum you could use a rotary table and do all the milling manually.

Com
05-13-2005, 03:24 PM
i think somthing like this would do the job you want :
http://www.taigtools.com/cmill.html

jl123