PDA

View Full Version : Need Help! Edit Code for final move



millman52
05-04-2010, 06:27 PM
I end up with many drops all equal size form repeat work.

I find myself bringing many of these drops back across the table to cut small parts when needed. Sometimes I will use 20 or so of these drops.

I'd like to edit the code to make the gantry move a foot or so after process is finished. Right now I am either joging away or returning home.

Can anyone help?

ger21
05-04-2010, 08:32 PM
I just add a G0 Xxx Yyy at the end of my code to move out of the way. Just put the coordinates you want to move to in there.

millman52
05-05-2010, 07:28 AM
I just add a G0 Xxx Yyy at the end of my code to move out of the way. Just put the coordinates you want to move to in there.

Below is the last few lines of code:


N1260 G03 X42.7100 Y24.1506 I-0.0013 J-0.0300
N1270 G01 X40.0083 Y23.1127
N1280 G03 X39.9898 Y22.0140 I0.2125 J-0.5531
N1290 M05
N1300 G04 P0.05
N1310 G00 Z1.5000
N1320 M05 M30


I have the code edited to read like this now & it makes the move I want. But it moves at cut speed not rapid. ???


N1280 G03 X39.9898 Y22.0140 I0.2125 J-0.5531
N1290 M05
N1300 G04 P0.05
N1310 G00 Z1.5000
N1320 G01 X27.000 Y22.140
N1330 M05 M30

ger21
05-05-2010, 11:48 AM
N1280 G03 X39.9898 Y22.0140 I0.2125 J-0.5531
N1290 M05
N1300 G04 P0.05
N1310 G00 Z1.5000
N1320 G00 X27.000 Y22.140
N1330 M05 M30

BobWarfield
05-05-2010, 12:15 PM
I'm guessing you're using CAM of some kind to produce the g-codes.

Makes me wonder if you can edit the post in some way to add your move out of the way so it'll automatically be in every program from now on.

Cheers,

BW

millman52
05-05-2010, 06:21 PM
Gerry Thanks.

LOL Your previous post said "use G0" DUH.

Bob you are right I am using CAM. In most cases The code Sheetcam generates for me is flawless. Now maybe if I were more G-Code wise I wouldn't think like that.

Even Jogging down axis wasn't a big deal. I just knew It could be done with a hand written line. Even at that if I only need to process 2-3 pieces of scrap & can jog out of the way quicker than I can edit the code.

Again, Thanks Gerry, Works great.

ger21
05-05-2010, 06:40 PM
As Bob said, you should be able to get SheetCAM to add that line for you. But I don't use it, so can't tell you how to do it.