PDA

View Full Version : Hi-speed motor/spindle???

radicooldude
05-10-2005, 11:13 PM
Hi, I have a small Harbor Freight Micro mill, and want to put on a higher speed spindle/motor. Currently it can only do 2000rpm, and has a 1/5hp AC motor. If I wanted to get about 10000rpm, and variable, what would I need? Could I keep the same gearing, and just buy a faster motor and controller? Is there any motors and controllers for under $100? Thank you. - Zachery

cbass
05-10-2005, 11:38 PM
Hi radicooldude,

I'm new at this myself, however I've been looking into upgrading the speed on a Sherline head. It is belt driven by a variable speed 1/3 hp motor. Stock, it does 150-2200 rpm. However, they offer an upgrade to 10,000 rpm. A couple of things need to be changed:

1) Change the pulley sizes
2) Loosen the preload on the bearings

The first is pretty obvious. The second is needed because at higher speeds, the bearings will heat-up more and will require more room to expand as they do. By installing a different set of pulleys, you change the speed range to 1500-10200 rpm. So you can go faster but you loose low end speed.

I'm not familiar with the Harbour Freight setup, but I would think that gears are more limited in speed than belts (maybe someone else can confirm this). I know that some lower speed hobby units use a metal gear on the motor and a plastic one on the spindle. Aside from premature wear on the plastic due to higher speeds, there might be a heat problem involved in running things faster. These things are, after all, desigend for specific parameters.

As far as changing the motor, I doubt that a motor that spins at 10,000 rpm will have the torque you need at low speeds (again, you'd have to regear things and you'd probably loose your low end speed/torque).

Your best bet may be to switch to pulleys for your motor and spindle (if you have the room) as they are relatively cheap and easy to configure.