PDA

View Full Version : Need Help! infeed angle

jmichaud1
04-17-2010, 08:13 PM
I am very new to swiss programming and would like some advice on what angle to use for feeding a thread tool while doing a segmented thread. I wrote a really cool macro that will turn-thread-turn but my inserts are just not lasting. They aren't burning up but just chipping a little at the tip of the insert after just a few parts, so I'm thinking it might be in my approach.

If anyone has had successs with segmenting threads, could you please let me know what angle you are sending the thread tool into the part to pick up the next segment.

Also, what speeds are good for threading on the Swiss. I am programming on a Citizen A20 and trying to cut an 8-32 thread 1.625 inches long in 304 SS. I started with 1000 RPM and tried dropping it down to 800. I am more experienced on mills so this Swiss and turning is all pretty new to me.

danrudolph
04-17-2010, 09:01 PM
I haven't done any segmented threading, but I would think you could use G92 with a straight infeed on the X. If chamfer angle was a problem, I would expect the inserts to chip on every cycle.

Sounds like your core for the threading tool is may not be set correctly? I had some inserts chipping and an adjustment of a few thou on the core took care of it.

jmichaud1
04-18-2010, 10:20 PM
I am using a G32 threading cylcle with a custom macro I wrote. I just don't know the best angle to come into the next segment to pick it up the thread correctly.

cogsman1
04-19-2010, 09:29 PM
You need to enter at the trailing angle of the thread and pull out at the leading angle to be able to hide the blend points.

chet470
04-27-2010, 05:26 PM
Threading in sections can be difficult to get used too. I actually do it on a regular basis and almost always feed in at a 45. If #7 equals thread pitch......G32U[#7*2]W#7 or G32U[#7+#7]W#7 if you prefer.

chet470
04-27-2010, 05:27 PM
That would obviously be a 45 lead-out but I think you get the idea

kwmkoester