PDA

View Full Version : Advice on making bushings

10bulls
04-27-2005, 11:40 AM
I'm very new to lathe work and as a masochisitc challenge, I'm planning to turn some leaded bronze bushes to use as linear slides on silver steel printer rods. OD of bar I have is 1", printer rods are 12mm. My lathe is a 7x12 mini.

My plan of attack is going to be this...

1. Cut bronze round to bit larger than required length.
2. Face both ends in lathe to required length (easy so far)
3. Mount in 4 jaw chuck and dial in to get as central as I can.
4. Centre drill, then scribe a circle about 10mm dia around centre
5. Mark off about 6 points round this circle and drill 3mm holes on drill press for 'clearance?' channels
6. Return to 4 jaw chuck and dial in again
7. Tailstock drill center hole using progressive sizes...if 12mm drill hole is tight on the printer rod use that, otherwise stop at 11.5mm
8. If needed, use boring bar to get ID close to required
9. Lap to finish off with valve grinding paste (maybe).
10. Have beer

Phew! Does all this sound sensible? Anybody have any good pointers or tips?
(...other than just go buy some! :p)

Any advice gratefully received!

Many thanks
Andy

cncadmin
04-27-2005, 11:47 AM
Try a spad bit, that will rough out the hole, and than you can finish up boring it to your finished size.

10bulls
04-27-2005, 12:00 PM
I did that (22mm in aluminium) when making (anti-play?) bearing blocks for the ends of my lead screws. My head still hasn't stopped spinning from fumes of all the WD40 I sprayed on it in the process! ;)
I was hoping to do something a little bit more precise this time. These are for the Z axis of my router.
However I reserve the right to go into 'bodge' mode when it comes to it! :D

Mcgyver
04-27-2005, 12:02 PM
bunch o stuff to think about - this is a straight forward job that you may be making too complicated (although drilling some types of bronze can test your mettle)