New XYZ Gantry Kit

Page 1 of 12 123411 ... LastLast

Thread: New XYZ Gantry Kit

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default New XYZ Gantry Kit

After waiting patiently my XYZ Gantry Router Kit arrived today.

I will try to keep up a post on my progress.
    The unit came well packaged and arrived in good condition.
    It's specifications are
    24" X
    24" Y
    8" Z
    Got the mechanical kits only.

Other bits are as follows
    2.2 KW Water cooled Spindle Keling
    Control System Smooth Stepper and G540 Soigeneris
    Steppers 276 Oz NEMA 23 Soigeneris
    Computer Shuttle X50V2 Touch Screen 15.6"
    Mach 3

First step is to make a table for it. Probably do something out of 80/20.
    I will try to post lots of pictures. I have some experience with CNC but not a lot. I have a Sherline DeskCNC and a KX3. I wanted something with a working area so I saw a prototype of the XYZ system at CNC workshop last year so I figured I needed one.

Dave

Similar Threads:
    Last edited by dfmiller; 04-12-2011 at 09:51 PM. Reason: Adding some pictures

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default It came well packaged

It arrived in a really nicely made crate of 3/4" plywood.
    It made the trip from Illinois to the B.C. intact.

My daughter helped me unload it and the heaviest piece was manageable by one but easier with two.
    I guess I should add it's her machine once I get it done. It like anything for a 20 something kid. I will pay the bills and do all the work and she hopefully will have all the fun. She is taking a CNC apprenticeship at the local community college and I dragged her to the CNC workshop last year. She has some interest and I figured it would be a good learning experience for us. She is almost finished her first 8 month ( All manual machining) and about to do a 8 month work term.

The unit is very well made and I am looking forward to making some chips.
    The shipping weight was 274 lbs. And as you can see it solidly constructed.