newbe questions

Thread: newbe questions

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Question newbe questions

This is my first try.I like what I read about xylotex controller.
    My question is: my machine weight is 62.5 lbs,moves very easly
    on roller tracks,using timing belts for power transfer . Our desired speed is 0 to 20 ipm.
    what inch oz. stepper motors would you try , that could handle the enertia when making directional changes ? and would the xylotex controller be ok for this kind of application ?

Similar Threads:
    cecil

Downloads
    Uploads

Hi,

Welcome to cnczone. I have a couple questions for you. What weighs 62 lbs, the whole machine? Just the gantry? You say you are using timing belts, is that to couple the motor to the leadscrew, or is a timing belt used to move the whole gantry?

If it's the whole gantry, with no leadscrews, you will need a gearbox on the stepper. You want to set it up so one step of the stepper moves the machine between .00025 and .0005" I would say. If you can get it setup that way, then I would think 100 oz motors will move it along at 20" just fine with the xylotex board, probably faster.

What do you plan to cut?

Eric

I wish it wouldn't crash.

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default xylotex

thanks balsaman for your response.yes the whole machine weights 62.5 lbs mounts on a dolly,moves in x and y only.on rails 14 ' long What it is ,is a home made sewing machine with a 31" throat. that we want to cnc it to sew patterns in king size quilts.We have hand made everything ourselves so want the
    bells and whistles of cnc so you dont have to move it by hand.
    Both X and Y will use a timing belt for power transfer. will use the timing belt and stepper like a rack and pinion.does this make more sence?does xylotex sell 5v and 12v power supplys for thier drivers?

cecil

Downloads
    Uploads

He sells a 24V supply which is what you really should use. You can also find some good deals on 24V supplies on Ebay.