Need Help! Hold down for noobs with small mill?

Thread: Hold down for noobs with small mill?

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Hold down for noobs with small mill?

I have a small maxnc 15 cnc mill. Was cutting some .250 plate and it moved on me. I had it held down with 2 L brackets into the T-nuts.

What would a better option be?
    I have a sherline vise but it seems pretty small, so would like something bigger. Thought about a vacuum table but I'm a total newbie at this so I'm sure I will run into that.

The plate I am practicing with is 3 or 4" tall and 10 to 14" long.

Similar Threads:
    MaxNC15 - currently under construction
    Torchmate 2x2 with Flashcut CNC Controls

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Re: Hold down for noobs with small mill?

Can you post a picture of your setup? Maybe adding a couple more clamps or end stops would be helpful. Most of my work is done with the work bolted to the table, normally not a problem.

Jim Dawson
    Sandy, Oregon, USA

Downloads
    Uploads

Quote Originally Posted by Jim Dawson View Post
    Can you post a picture of your setup? Maybe adding a couple more clamps or end stops would be helpful. Most of my work is done with the work bolted to the table, normally not a problem.
    Just have these two little clamps that came with the sherline vice

I also want to know how to make a jig for under the plate. So I can mill out 2 holes then bolt the piece down to the plate

Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Hold down for noobs with small mill?-1e19af04-3a5a-4d13-80a9-6b57954e518a-jpg  
    MaxNC15 - currently under construction
    Torchmate 2x2 with Flashcut CNC Controls

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Re: Hold down for noobs with small mill?

Figuring out how the hang on to the work is about 1/3 of machining. You are only limited by your imagination. Having lots of extra T-nuts helps. Easy to make, or available from many vendors.