Mini CNC suggestions ?

Thread: Mini CNC suggestions ?

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default Mini CNC suggestions ?

Hello.
    I'm a 3d artist/animator and I'm interested in buying a small office sized but high resolution cnc milling machine that can handle stainless steel and brass. The idea is to be able to "send" detailed models of chess pawns from 3dsmax (or other software) to the cnc and have them carved out of steel or brass.
    Let me hear your suggestions please.
    Thanks

P.s. kits or assembled systems, doesn't really matter.

Similar Threads:

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Re: Mini CNC suggestions ?

Anything that can handle stainless steel needs to be pretty heavy duty. A small Tormach mill or lathe comes to mind, but your definition of "office" sized may be different than mine. A mill is not something I would really want in an office... You need a small shop or garage for any mill or lathe really. You don't just clamp in the metal and "send" the file to a cnc mill or lathe from the cad drawing software and expect it to cut out an object. It's not like an 3D printer at all. At times extensive fixturing and changes for multiple cuts is required. You may be able to design the piece in 3dmax, but then there are steps to produce the cam/post gcode required (based on your cutter, speeds, feeds etc) and then run it with your cnc driver software. Some cad software like inventor enable completing the machining steps using HSM, but in all cases it's additional steps after drawing your part. A chess pawn would be something that would be better produced on a cnc lathe, or a mill with a 4th axis which is rotary. I'd suggest some extensive research and learn all you can about the different types of machines and their capabilities before diving into a purchase.

Downloads
    Uploads