Help designing CNC machines for MARS

Thread: Help designing CNC machines for MARS

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default Help designing CNC machines for MARS

I am interested in space exploration and eventually machining in outer space on Mars or the moon.

I am an electrical engineer but I am not particularly mechanically inclined so I am starting from the VERY beginning.

My Shapeoko 3 XXL will be delivered on Monday its my first CNC or milling machine. Originally, I wanted to machine aluminum for CubeSat sized spacecraft and was considering the PocketNC or Nomad machines but I think the Shapeoko is a good hobby level aluminum routing machine for the price as a learning tool for my basic education in CNC. I understand its primarily a 33" by 33" wood cutting machine but I will be stretching it to mill aluminum and am looking on any advice to mill aluminum and brass to the best possible tolerances.

So my goal is to construct machines on Mars that will be able to construct slightly more precise machines which will then construct more precise.....
    This is a very large goal and I will nearly certainly fail but I think I may be able to push the ball forward so that others can succeed and I would like to ask your help with this.

This is how I currently envision building a prototype machine shop for less money while also learning how to build one from scratch which will be a necessary skill on Mars where from scratch includes mining the metal.