Disabled NEWBIE Looking to BUY First CNC Machine

Thread: Disabled NEWBIE Looking to BUY First CNC Machine

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Disabled NEWBIE Looking to BUY First CNC Machine

Hi Guys,

I'm a real NEWBIE here (as of today) and I am disabled from a massive stroke at 44.

I want my first CNC as it seems like some I could really enjoy. I used to enjoy woodworking and CAD work too. I owned &operating my own graphics business for 20+ years and engaged in both every week.

I am looking at a STEPCRAFT 2/600 for a starter machine. Most all of my work will be hobby/therapy work, I do not intend to make a living out of it.

My question t you guys is, for my needs & wants, would a Chinese CNC be a better choice? I could save $1000's on the initial investment (or could I) and I'm in no hurry.

Why do good quality machines appear to have only 500w & 800w spindles when Chinese machines have 1.5kw & 2.2kw spindles?

Is there something else I should look at?

Are Chinese machines that bad?

Similar Threads:

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Re: Disabled NEWBIE Looking to BUY First CNC Machine

With an American or (in this case) European machine, you're paying for things, like support and accountability, which you don't generally get with a Chinese-made equivalent. If you don't need any help getting a machine to run, and you're willing to roll the dice and hope that what you get measures up to what you thought you'd ordered, then a Chinese machine may be a good choice for you. But this forum is full of complaints and pleas for help from people who lost that bet.