Need help... and lots of it...

Thread: Need help... and lots of it...

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default Need help... and lots of it...

Hi guys

After doing a lot of hunting on google, I found the CNC zone forum.

I'm a complete newbie, in fact assume I know nothing at all.

Lets start with what I'm hoping to achieve with this endeavour... I want to start making CNC milled aluminium moulds.

Throughput I am not too concerned with, I would like to be able to develop a full sinker mould within 2 hrs though (not including time taken to design in CAD or similar software, purely machining time).
    Budget - sub $5000AUD
    Moulds aren't excessively complex, balls, snapper sinkers, spoon sinkers, pyramid sinkers, etc.

My knowledge is quite poor with CNC, my understanding is... you have an idea --> create the idea in CAD --> export to a suite of CAM software --> perhaps modify the G-codes to be more suitable --> export to MACH3 or something similar --> start machining.

What I am really wanting is direction. Not asking for you to teach me everything you know, rather direction to where I can find the information I need. Also, direction on what tooling I need to purchase before progressing.

I have found a reasonably priced Heiz CNC High-Z S400T second hand that I am wanting to purchase. Would this machine be suitable for the application I'm looking at?

Most likely to be milling 2011 or something similar.

My questions pertain more to the software side of things, what's best? What to use... How to use... How to learn / where to find out how to use it... What are your recommendations for a complete novice to get well on his way to producing sinker moulds.

I understand this may be a time consuming process and by what I have read so far, definitely is not an overnight thing to learn.

I also need to learn about speeds to run... what tools to use.. etc. etc.

Essentially I need to learn way to go on HOW TO CNC.

I hope I get some responses.

Cheers
    Ben