New To CNC Plasma - Need Thoughts On PlasmaCam Or Shop Sabre

Thread: New To CNC Plasma - Need Thoughts On PlasmaCam Or Shop Sabre

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default New To CNC Plasma - Need Thoughts On PlasmaCam Or Shop Sabre

Hi, all, thanks for having me on this forum. I'm a total newbie to this whole world of metal cutting and fabrication. I'm excited about it and eager to learn, but I will admit that it's a little intimidating right now. I’m looking at buying either a 4x4 or a 4x8 CNC plasma, mainly for metal art in thinner metal. Everyone on this forum seems like they’re eager to help – so bear with me if I ask what are probably rookie questions…and thanks for the help in advance!

I'm either currently looking at, or have looked at, Torchmate, ArcLight, PlasmaCam, Tactical CNC and EZ Cut. Right now it’s probably down to either PlasmaCam or ShopSabre. Here's what my dilemma with all of these different machines has been. I need to be able to take photos, images from the internet or even design ideas out of my head and convert those into designs that I can cut. I’ve had some stuff cut by a guy who has a PlasmaCam, with the DesignEdge software, and since I’ve looked into them, I know that this is their proprietary software. I have a small shop space and I like the concept fo a water table fro fume control, and PCam doesn't offer those that I've seen.