Need electronic advice for a scratch build CNC router

Thread: Need electronic advice for a scratch build CNC router

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default Need electronic advice for a scratch build CNC router

I'm building a 24x48" CNC wood router. I've got the mechanical movements on lockdown. Solid gantry, sliding table with covered/sealed screws and guideways, and a very thick frame (gantry is static, so she's big). I have been programming and running CNCs as a career for a couple years, so I know what a good machine is capable of.

I don't want to run mach3 and geek out over missed steps and rely on a computer, so right off the bat I know I'll need a standalone motion controller vs PCI card. I'm looking at a SMC4-4-16A16B (on amazon), and I really like the idea of popping a card in with a program on it (written in Fusion 360) and running it right off the panel.

NEED TO KNOW:
    - what power supply to buy to run three 2.8A 269oz/in. steppers with this system, with the option of upgrading to bigger steppers in the future
    - what drivers to buy to match (how do I match a driver to a motor?)
    - what gauge of wire I'll need to hook this ****e up

BOTTOM LINE
    - I need a system that doesn't rely on a computer because reasons, and the easier it is to hook up the better.

Similar Threads:

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Re: Need electronic advice for a scratch build CNC router

Which force do you need at the spindle how fast should it move so you can calc the needed motor

Gesendet von iPad mit Tapatalk

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

I want to be able to run it up to 80 inches/minute or more if possible but will probably run it slower depending on how the build goes. I don't really care about rapid speed, just want enough torque for hardwood and the occasional aluminum.

Downloads
    Uploads

What is the pitch of your screws, and the inductance of your motors?