Zenbot 2448 or Stepcraft-2 840 or X-Carve?

Thread: Zenbot 2448 or Stepcraft-2 840 or X-Carve?

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default Zenbot 2448 or Stepcraft-2 840 or X-Carve?

• Hello,

Yet another newbie question : which one should I buy?

• I want to use it to make electric guitar bodys and necks;
    • I'm a hobbyist, not a professional, living in Canada;
    • From my first analysis of different systems, my budget seems to only allow me one of these:

• I plan to use Fusion 360 for CAD and CAM;
    • I really want to be able to carve guitar tops in 3D, not 2D or 2.5D;
    • Mach 3 as a controller;

Other concerns or questions:

• Why don't we hear much about Mach 4?
    • Shouldn't parallel ports be things of the past?
    • Could you rate 1st to 3rd best for my needs among these?

Thanks

JF

Similar Threads:

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Re: Zenbot 2448 or Stepcraft-2 840 or X-Carve?

Why don't we hear much about Mach 4?
    Probably because many people don't feel it's at a usable state yet. It's still missing some key features, and motion controller support is still lacking.

Shouldn't parallel ports be things of the past?
    It depends on what you are referring to. A large number of people are still using Mach3 and LinuxCNC with parallel ports, as it's an inexpensive and easy way to control a machine.
    There are a lot of non parallel port alternatives. If using Mach3, you need a motion controller, which adds to the cost.

A lot of hardware was originally designed to be used with parallel ports. Because of this, you'll still see a lot of hardwith with connections for parallel ports, even though you may not be using one.
    Could you rate 1st to 3rd best for my needs among these?
    Since I've never seen any of them in person, no, not really.
    Imo, all will have deficiencies.
    These are low end machines, and you'll likely find that they are all lacking in rigidity.