Just In Please Help! Looking to buy multiple CNC and Laser Machines.

Thread: Please Help! Looking to buy multiple CNC and Laser Machines.

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default Please Help! Looking to buy multiple CNC and Laser Machines.

Hello,

I am new to cnc and have never operated one in my life. My knowledge on cnc is limited to reading posts here and other places. I am in the process of completing my research work on a new line of business as diversification. I will appreciate if you could provide me your feedback and critique.

Background: We are looking into mass production of wooden sculptures using tropical exotic woods. We are considering Colombia, Costa Rica or Dominican Republic as the manufacturing base.

Sculptures will be 3D, carved from a single cube of wood, no joining what so ever. The size will range from (2.6X2.6X6) inches to (48X48X60) inches - from the size of a coke can to big mannequins. Some models may be built in 2.5D too. Also, we will make some wooden box (similar to jewelry boxes or treasure chest boxes) as the packing box for smaller sizes that can be used as jewelry boxes. Our main focus is on the quality on whatever we deliver, so these sculptures will be made out of best available wood and will be highly detailed. We expect to make 20,000 pieces in the very first year, but majority of them will be of smaller sizes, very few will be bigger than 18X18X27 inches.

Need: Among other things, need multiple machines and laser wood cutters/markers for high run, mass production of these wooden sculptures. Of course, looking for high quality machines that can run 16 hours a day but at a reasonable cost!

Looking for guidance -
    • I think, we will need:
    • 4-axis Multi-spindle (6-10 spindles) - 3 or 4 (for smallar stocks)
    • 5-axis - 1 or 2 (for larger stocks).
    • Laser engraver wood - 1 (engraving on the box)
    • Laser engraver metal - 1 (engraving on brass plate on the box.