I wish I would have bought!

Thread: I wish I would have bought!

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Exclamation I wish I would have bought!

Hi all,
    I want to say just save up your money and buy a reliable good machine!

I found out about CNC's about 3 1/2 years ago and I am a typical broke family male that likes to build things. So when I found out about CNC's I flipped and had to have one! BUT they cost 4k and up really.
    So I got to work and researched as much as I could about the subject. This site is awesome for us who want to research!!!
    After looking at the designs out there I thought I could build one as easy as pie. I am a designer for a mechanical group, how hard could this be, right?
    Well after buying partial board and cutting out a design with my jig saw; I found out that my design was less than accurate. I also found out I am a designer and not yet a machinist.

After that experience I decided that maybe I should just go out and buy the cheapest machine i could find. At the time ZenCNC just came out and I could get their machine for 300ish. When i got the kit it took me maybe 30mins to put it together and I also did things to make its more sturdy so it didn't flex as much, as well as painting it black. Yes i wanted it to look good. They didn't have any recommended electrical hardware like they do now. I have to say the electronics has to be the hardest part about CNC's!!! There are two kinds the old pink printer port which most electronics are or the new USB kind. The USB boards were more than the machine i just bought and hard to find. I probably searched for 4 months before deciding to go with easy-cnc. I like the ability to remove bad drivers if something went wrong. So i get that set up and plug it into my oldest computer with a printer port.