New Shop Setup Q's

Thread: New Shop Setup Q's

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default New Shop Setup Q's

Hi All. I am a new member here and have a few questions regarding setting up a new shop. I am a ME by trade and I decided to make the plunge and make my hobby/side business a full time gig. Right now I have a small shop in my garage were I make mostly firearm accessories. I have a manual lathe and mill and a 4 axis K2 cnc router (I mostly make gunstocks on the CNC).
    I do all of my desgin in SW2011 premium and am very capable with that software. My CAM program is the bobcad SW add on. I know the basics of 2d/3d CNC.

I want to outfit a small shop with a CNC VMC and a CNC lathe. (by small shop I mean a small commerical location with 3 phase,not my garage) Most of my parts will be small in size and production runs will number in the 100's per year. I will not be doing much else outside of the products I make (I dont want to be a job shop so tooling requirements will not have to be to to broad)

For the Mill,
    I started thinking about going small chinese to start, like a turnkey Tormach or IH mill, as my production rate in the begining will not need to be super high. But as need increases I can get a used production VMC. But the more I read on here and other machinist forums the more I am leaning towards a used real VMC. What worries me is Ill blow my budget on a used machine only to find I need to make lots of repairs to get it to work. Any advice on what I should get or where? There are tons of shady looking brokers on the web that I dont trust.

For the lathe I was thinking of taking my time (outsourcing production turned stuff in the begining) and shop for a used Haas TL1 or equivalent (a refurb GT-27 has my eye) real cnc lathe.

Ive got about $60K in cash to spend on setting up the shop. Its not a lot but I dont have to go into debt and I am pretty sure I can swing it if I am frugal.