New Machine Build CNC LATHE RETROFIT From the ground up!

Thread: CNC LATHE RETROFIT From the ground up!

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default CNC LATHE RETROFIT From the ground up!

Hello WORLD!

So, I have been retrofitting machines for 8+ years. I have felt a sense of neglect to the community that has helped me so much, so I want to return the favors.

I purchased a 17"x40" Standard Modern CNC Lathe with 8 station tool changer on it. The control is a milltronics control (obviously outdated).

The machine looks to be in great condition, I will receive it next week.

Here is the plan:

I will make a multi part video series, here and on youtube, of me hooking up and retrofitting the entire machine. I will be going into the entire machine, selecting the best electronics, deciding whether to keep the servos and replace them with hybrid steppers (pretty cool stuff).

Electronics:

I have a ethernetsmooth stepper, with c32 board from cnc4pc (about $400.00), with mach 3 turn.
    I may purchase a kflop and dynomotion to run the exhisting servos. OR...
    I may purchase the CSMIO IP/A for servos, I have one already that works great on my Mill, I would just have to buy it from Poland :| and wait 2 weeks for it to get here...
    I may purchase another system that can interface with servos...I forgot the name but will let yall know...Oh wait its dpsmc....

So first things first I will upload pics once the machine arrives, I will try to upload pics every few days of my progress

Stay Tuned!

Similar Threads:

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default Re: CNC LATHE RETROFIT From the ground up!

I'm interested in this any updates?

Downloads
    Uploads

Quote Originally Posted by mike^3 View Post

Electronics:
    I may purchase a kflop and dynomotion to run the exhisting servos. OR...
    Stay Tuned!
    Why not look at Kanalog as well and run the existing servo's, if drives are needed, there are plenty of A-M-C analogue drives on ebay etc.