Need Help! BUILDING A 4 AXIS BENCHTOP CNC MILL

Thread: BUILDING A 4 AXIS BENCHTOP CNC MILL

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default BUILDING A 4 AXIS BENCHTOP CNC MILL

First off I would like to say hello to the forum, this is my first post.

As the title says, I am looking for some advice from those who are much more experienced than I am. I'm currently a sophomore engineering student and I enjoy challenging myself with personal machining projects. I am very familiar with manual machining, I do a lot of vacuum fixturing design and prototyping for the physics department at my university. A couple months ago I replicated Steffan Gotteswinter's exchangeable anvil micrometer, after surface and tool post grinding, the mic is accurate to about 2-3 tenths over the 1 inch length, which is more then good enough for me. I'm currently in the middle of machining a aluminum rifle stock, and a fully operational scale 4 stroke engine. Although the 20-50 hour projects I have worked on are quite rewarding, I have decided to take on a more difficult challenge, something that would be useful. I'm sure anyone who has actually read this far knows where this is going.

I want to design and build a "bench-top" sized CNC milling machine. Something relatively small but robust enough to machine aluminum without any issues. It wouldn't be a machine to do production job shop work, just something I could use to do small one offs or parts that would be tedious to machine manually. I am not concerned with efficiency, I would be okay running at the largest a .250 end mill or a max DOC of .050". Before my rambling continues any longer, I want to layout the main points I'm looking to have answered with this post.

Overall Design:
    - I am in between a conventional style vertical milling machine and at some point adding a small 4th axis, or a PocketNC style machine minus the fifth axis. The PocketNC has a horizontal spindle, with a body made from a giant chunk of 6061.