V Carve pro? satisfied? dissatisfied?

Thread: V Carve pro? satisfied? dissatisfied?

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default V Carve pro? satisfied? dissatisfied?

I'm very new to both cad and cam software and I'm trying to make a decision between vcarvepro and visual mill and just wanted to get some feedback from some users. I've downloaded both demos and they both appear to have strengths and weaknesses. I think visual mill is a little easier to draw from scratch but it appears that v carve has other useful features that maybe visual mill does not. To begin with I'm sure I'll only be doing simple drawings and cuts but don't want to limit myself in the future either. Any input would be greatly appreciated. I've been pondering over this for the last couple weeks.

Similar Threads:

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Re: V Carve pro? satisfied? dissatisfied?

I don't use it very often, but when I need it, VCarve Pro works great. It is fairly simple to learn. Great user interface. Pretty powerful as well. I do not have any experience with VM.

Lee

Downloads
    Uploads

You're kind of comparing apples to oranges here. V Carve Pro is mainly targeted at woodworkers and signmakers, while Visual Mill is a more general purpose CAM package.
    Visual Mill has a lot more features than V-Carve Pro, but V-Carve Pro has some features that VM does not.

What version of Visual mill are you looking at?

VM Standard cost twice as much as VCP. It has 3D machining, which VCP does not. VCP has nesting, which VM does not. Adding nesting to VM will bring the cost up to 3x that of VCP. But the nesting is probably better than VCP's nesting.

If you're just doing basic cuts, you might want to look at something like SheetCAM, along with an inexpensive or free CAD program like Draftsight. That can get you started for 1/3 the cost of V-Carve Pro, with many of the same features.