Need Help! Do I need respirators for thermoforming machine operators?

Thread: Do I need respirators for thermoforming machine operators?

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default Do I need respirators for thermoforming machine operators?

I NEED HELP!

I am a small business owner making specialty motorcycle parts thermoforming ABS. I have been doing this for over 4 years but now I am getting bigger and hired part-time employee. Employee does not like the smell of the ABS in oven. I have found minor MSDS sheets none which pertain to theromoforming ABS. Do I need respirators for the employee and what kind?

Finding good employee has been hard enough, loosing good one.

john

Similar Threads:

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

MSDS sheet should detail all hazards as to chemical exposure and toxic effects. Sounds like you need better ventilation. OSHA has rules as to number of air exchanges per hour, according to what processes. I worked in a City shop where due to poor ventilation, OSHA would only allow Fluorescent trouble lights due to their belief of explosion hazard.

Organic vapor mask (not the paper masks) like an auto paint shop uses should do, again check the msds, it should detail. BTW get the MSDS from your plastic supplier, give your employee a copy too.

We're not in business to make parts, we're in business to make money, making parts is just how we do that.

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads