Newbie question

Thread: Newbie question

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default Newbie question

Hello.

I really don't know where to post this, so I just picked a place. Mods can move if need be.

I've been a small time machinist with old worn out lathes, and id like to experiment with cnc cutting.

I have an idea with programming, and really interested in trying some small projects with a small home built rig. No more then 12 X 12 inch with at most 4" of spindle drop just for small engraving.

Building something to mount the steppers on isn't the issue. I'm confused and trying to figure out all the components and protocol needed to make this happen.

I'd like to stay with Linux and usb. Either desktop and usb, or my raspberry pi 2 and usb.

Next is breakout board? Controller board? Obviously I need usb, so TinyG CNC Controller Board v8 ID: 1749 - $165.00 : Adafruit Industries, Unique & fun DIY electronics and kits??

Next question is powering the steppers, I sourced some $12 peewee. Do they need their own power source? I doubt they can pull from that controller board? Or does the controller board get power from else where?

Spindle I was going to wire up a dremel or something.

Limit switches, I have a few that can be wired as normally closed.

As I mentioned, construction isn't the issue as much as motors, board, supply, and usb/software will be.

Links, tips, and advice is appreciated. I'd love to expand this hobby as a small income to a division of my company.

Thanks.

Sent from my s-off'ed m7 with CM11

Similar Threads:
    Last edited by linux4cnc; 05-02-2016 at 06:56 AM.

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Re: Newbie question

So maybe an expert will chime in after but...

Linuxcnc can I believe run without a Break out board (bob) but a Bob makes connections easier and might add functionality. Alternatively you could use arduino/grbl (or tinyg) which is kind of via USB.