Need some CNC Turning done

Thread: Need some CNC Turning done

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default Need some CNC Turning done

So I am looking for someone local to me (Los Angeles) if possible. This project is in the early stages, pre-prototype. I need the pieces to do additional r&d. And of course, the quality of the work will play a big role when it goes into production. This is just a small part of the project (literally, it is one piece out of several, and it is the simplest part). I have no experience in machining and was struggling to call and email the shops that I could find via craigslist/yelp/google so I decided to come here. I am looking to get 4 pieces of each design (i have 2 designs, both are very similar) so 8 pieces total. And of course I want them as soon as possible.

Similar Threads:
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Need some CNC Turning done-fv-5mm-09-29-14_rev-1-pdf   Need some CNC Turning done-fv-1-00mm-09-29-14_rev-1-a  

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default Re: Need some CNC Turning done

oops, forgot to add this would be 316 SS

Downloads
    Uploads

You might want to re-think that 1mm thread pitch on the second part. The way your drawing reads, the wall thickness will be about .003" if someone cuts a sharp V thread.

Later,
    Charlie

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Thanks for the advice Charlie Gary. Did not realize that. If so, I will probably stick to the .5mm thread pitch. The main thing I am looking for, are high quality, butter smooth threading, and flushness (if that's even a word)

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

The only quote i've gotten so far, is $62/piece. Which honestly seems kind of high to me. Am I just crazy? I've emailed and called at least 20 people/companies, and most said they would need to see what I wanted to make (which if I had what i wanted to make I wouldnt need to make it) or it goes to voicemail or no replies to emails.

Downloads
    Uploads