HELP! Best way to cut ALUMINUM square tubing in thin slices w/o kickback?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: HELP! Best way to cut ALUMINUM square tubing in thin slices w/o kickback?

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default HELP! Best way to cut ALUMINUM square tubing in thin slices w/o kickback?

I am a hobbyist and would like to cut, for example, aluminum square tubing (Any size from 1", 1.5", 2", 3" square and 1/8" thickness/wall) into many "slices" of varying sizes (like a loaf of bread). For instance, I would have a 4' foot length 2" AL square tube (1/8" wall) and run it through the saw to create many slices of open squares (like hollow square bread slices). I would also like to do the same with ROUND Aluminum tubing to create many AL rings.

I purchased a Miter/chop saw and a "Freud D1080N Diablo 10-Inch 80 Tooth TCG Non-Ferrous Metal Blade with 5/8-Inch Arbor and PermaShield Coating" that was recommended to me. This miter saw and blade would be proprietary and only used for aluminum cutting.

My first attempt was going great and the Miter Saw with the Diablo blade was cutting the 1.5" tubing like butter. But, it eventually kicked back and flung the slice it just cut and bounced around the garage (luckily it threw the piece towards the back, even though I wear protective gear). I then attempted to make more careful cuts by releasing the power while the blade was still down (thinking that this would prevent any kickback). it worked well, but eventually it kicked back at the start of a cut.

So, would I be better off installing the Diablo circular saw blade on a Table Saw and running the tubing with a slide guide, slicing as I go? Would doing this on a table saw prevent any flying dangers/kickbacks? Any other opinions on equipment i can use to successfully and safely cut Aluminum square and round tubing into various lengths?

Thank you in advance for your reply.

Similar Threads:

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads