Need Help! Breaking Cutters is breaking me

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Breaking Cutters is breaking me

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Question Breaking Cutters is breaking me

Hi Guys,
    New member here "literally" and i have a question that i can not seem to get an answer to. I am a Cue builder by trade and have recently started working with metal (Aluminum) to be presice. I am using the chinese 3040T with 4th / Mach3 / Vetric max spindle speed is roughly 12,800.
    With that being said and i hope it helps, I am struggling to cut .125" aluminum flat stock. I am machining (or trying to) rather small parts and need to use a .0315 endmill to cut the part. It is the largest i can use. I do not know much about feeds and speeds and this is a different world for as i normally maching exotic woods. I can not stop breakng the Cutter can anyone help?

Similar Threads:

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Re: Breaking Cutters is breaking me

What type of aluminum? And what are you using for coolant and feedrate?

Sent from my SM-T813 using Tapatalk

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Thank you for responding...
    I am milling flat stock purchased at lowes so i am sure it is not 6061. as far as feed and speed i have tried many different combinations but the last was as follows:

DOC Per Pass = .005"
    Feed Rate = 3 IPM
    Spindle Speed = 10,753
    Air blast only

Downloads
    Uploads

Yessssss.............a .0315" diam end mill....... (how the heck do they make them that small).......is by any stretch of the imagination a very tiny cutter and the lands that the chips end up in get clogged by the aluminium sticking in there and blocking the path of the cutter's ability to penetrate into the next bit of material after the tooth has shaved off a chip

If you're cutting dry that will exacerbate the problem as ally will heat up, soften and stick to the relatively rough surface of the land behind the tooth instead of ejecting like a rocket.