Newbie Dynapath Delta20 - To Retrofit or Not

Thread: Dynapath Delta20 - To Retrofit or Not

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Dynapath Delta20 - To Retrofit or Not

Hello all, new member here, first post.

In my spare time at home I'm a machining hobbyist and I have been lusting after a CNC mill for years; I finally bought one recently. By day I'm a Controls Engineer; the systems I typically work with are VFD/PLC systems, not much experience with servos or position control, but it's something I'm interested in and wanted to give it a shot. I considered buying a manual machine and CNC-izing it, but eventually decided to try and find an older born & bred CNC machine with a non-working control system for cheap. My plan was to rip out the vintage controls and replace with a PC-based system for whatever reason, thought it would be cool I guess.

The machine I ended up buying (Lagunmatic 110 with Dynapath Delta 20 system, circa 1988) coincidentally actually has a near-fully functioning control system. The previous owner replaced the DC servos with AC servos (two SureServo 1kW and one Fanuc 1kW) and replaced the DC servo amps with Allen Bradley Ultra AC servo drives. He replaced the AC spindle motor and pulley system with a 2.2kW Allen Bradley servo motor and servo drive. The servos and drives alone are probably worth more than I paid for the mill. The only problems with it (so far that I know of) are:
    1. The serial interface chips are bad, so no comms with laptop to transfer programs to the machine. The previous owner gave me some replacement chips and I will try installing them, but worst case that doesn't fix the problem. Machining complex parts from PC-generated CAM is the whole reason why I wanted a CNC mill.
    2. There is a mystery error that I cannot find in any of the obtainable documentation ("Spindle zero speed overload") which pops up every time you actuate any axis or the spindle. It does not stop the machine but it is quite annoying.