Converting a Mill/Drill to CNC

Thread: Converting a Mill/Drill to CNC

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Converting a Mill/Drill to CNC

One of our members PMed me some questions about my mill/drill CNC conversion and I thought they would be best answered in a public forum.

He's referring to the mill/drill in this post.

Original Question
    Hey I noticed the item you had for sale I would like to build one do you have a list of the parts and or procedures for doing so. I'm new to this please help me. Judging by the pictures you look extremely knowledgable, and I want to learn how to build this. What software would I use? Thanks for the help in advance.
    My original reply:
    NeoMoses wrote on 02-03-2004 02:33 AM:
    Hi NAKD,
    I'll help you as much as I can, but I would highly recommend that you post this in the forums to get others opinions on it, too.

Basically, I started with the manual Mill/Drill, bought servo motors from Dan Mauch (www.seanet.com/~dmauch) Gecko 320s from www.geckodrive.com, and a power supply off of ebay.

The brackets were all made from aluminum bought from www.onlinemetals.com The timing pulleys, timing belts, and other accessories were purchased from www.mcmaster.com

Finally, to remove backlash on the x and y axes, I used moglice from www.moglice.com

Hope this helps. Again, I would recommend taking this to the forums, as many others are more intelligent than me, and can help you make this project happen for a little less money than I spent. Hope it helps!
    A second set of questions

1. which forum and where(don't want to irritate anyone?
    2. The last picture you had, has disks and alot of extra stuff, where did you get that stuff, how much was it, and could you put a list together for me thanks?
    3.What goes into the control box, do you have detailed diagrams instructions for building this?
    Thanks in advance.

Similar Threads:
    My name is Electric Nachos. Sorry to impose, but I am the ocean.