Intro + engraving bits

Thread: Intro + engraving bits

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Intro + engraving bits

Hello everyone, I've enjoyed this site very much since referred to it. I am a CNC newbie, especially the software side, with the focus being DIY for metalwork.

I have recently finished a bench mill which can be seen at http://www.5bears.com/cnc.htm. It is a 3 axis servo mill using mostly THK linear ways, with some surplus ground ballscrews. I am currently learning the software side with Rhino 3d and Visual Mill 4.0, both products doing very well so far! The mill was designed to be as fast as possible. I've added a KAVO HF spindle, and want to experiment a bit with engraving.

2 Quickie questions... first, when using TT fonts within Rhino, the letters always seem to create closed regions, if you get my drift. In other words, a capital "T" would come up with 8 straight line movements to form the letter, whereas for very small, simple engraving, I'd like to draw the "T" with one vertical, one horizontal movement. Does this make sense? Is there any way to get around this?

Secondly, is there an online source for 1/8" shank carbide engraving cutters in various configurations? I've tried making my own and it is really labor intensive to get a good cutter, I'd just as soon buy a few.

I hope to experiment with some HSM with this little mill, as soon as I get my Rhino knowledge up to speed. The mill will do 250 ipm+ which is kind of a goof on an X axis travel of 10". The KAVO will spin 50,000 RPM, and should have the power necessary for the small parts I plan on creating.

Thanks to all for an informative site, I hope I can contribute something.

Swede

Similar Threads:

Downloads
    Uploads

Downloads
    Uploads

Downloads
    Uploads

Nice machine.

The only way I know of to make "single line fonts" is to use the shx fonts included with autocad. These were made for pen plotters.

Eric

I wish it wouldn't crash.

Downloads
    Uploads