What does a 4-axis CNC machine look like?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: What does a 4-axis CNC machine look like?

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default What does a 4-axis CNC machine look like?

Could someone please describe/post pics on the general layout of a typical 4-axis machine? And perhaps the same with 5 and 6 axis? I'm still a noob, so anything above 3 axis still tends to flatten my head...

Similar Threads:
    snooper's second law: common sense isn't as common as we're led to believe...

Downloads
    Uploads

the 4, 5 and 6 axis are rotational axis so 1, 2 and 3 move back and forth on the x, y and z axis while 4, 5 and 6 moves around them

Downloads
    Uploads

Quote Originally Posted by snooper
    Could someone please describe/post pics on the general layout of a typical 4-axis machine?.....
    Four axis is fairly simple; there is a rotary mechanism with an axis (normally) oriented parallel to the X axis of the machine. The 4th axis can be used just for positioning parts so they can be machined in different orientations as the pictures show. The first picture is parts that are slotted in one orientation and then drilled and counterbored in a position 90 degrees to the slot. Using a rotary axis allowed these operations to be done in a single fixturing. The second picture shows lengths of aluminum round bar that just gets machined to length and tapped in each end. Doing it this way on lengths that were cut off on a high speed bandsaw was much quicker than facing and tapping each end in a lathe.

The 4th axis can also be run under full program control so complex shapes can be sculpted. I don't have any examples nor do I have any five axis examples.

Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails What does a 4-axis CNC machine look like?-rotexamp1-jpg   What does a 4-axis CNC machine look like?-rotexamp2-jpg  

Downloads
    Uploads

Snooper,