9x20 Lathe question

Thread: 9x20 Lathe question

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Question 9x20 Lathe question

Ok, I'm puzzled with this, maybe someone can shed some light for me. I have the Enco 9x20 Lathe, and I'm looking to swap out the 3 jaw chuck for the 4 jaw that it comes with, yes granted I've read all the reviews out there that it's not the best unit, or sometimes can be a real bear to dial it in at first, but I'm trying to turn down some dies for a tubing bender, and I'm using 5.5 inch round solid stock, so I need to use the larger chuck. Here's my dilemma....how the hell does this come off ???? I've looked at it for hours, and can't for the life of me figure this out, plus I'm fairly new at this, and don't want to damage it doing it the wrong way.
    Can someone point me in a direction on this please ?....

thanks in advance!!

-Arthur

Similar Threads:

Downloads
    Uploads

Hi Arthur,

Most likely, it has a threaded spindle nose. If you have both chucks, or a faceplate, just look at the back side of one of them to find out

They are a right hand thread, if it is a threaded mount. This can sometimes get pretty tight. The method to remove, is to first shut off the power to the machine, since you do not want it to start accidentally while you have a wrench on the chuck.

Engage the back gear and the direct drive gear at the same time. This locks the spindle up solid so you have something to work against when you try to loosen the chuck. Take a large wrench and adjust it to fit one of the jaws of the chuck and pull down on it, rotating counterclockwise. As soon as it is loose, it should come off easily.

Take plenty of care of your spindle nose threads and the shoulder at the back of the threads: this is what determines how true your chuck will run.

First you get good, then you get fast. Then grouchiness sets in.

(Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)

Registered