Newbie Trouble centering square stock in 4 jaw chuck

Thread: Trouble centering square stock in 4 jaw chuck

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default Trouble centering square stock in 4 jaw chuck

Im new to this and really need to get this done for a project. Any help would be much appreciated.
    I just cant seem to center a piece of square stock in my lathe using any of the videos or written instructions ive seen. It just doesn't seem to work when I try it. Is there a decent diagram around that illustrates the steps to this?

Thanks in advance!

Similar Threads:

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

heres an easy way to get it close
    scribe a line from one corner to the other and another line for one corner to the other.
    stick the part in the 4jaw chuck, put a center drill in your tail stock, bring your tail stock close to part, then move jaws till the intersection of the 2 lines meet the tip of the center drill. ie "X" marks the spot

Delw

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default How to: Centering square stock in 4 jaw chuck