Powermax 45 and Cutmaster 52

Thread: Powermax 45 and Cutmaster 52

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default Powermax 45 and Cutmaster 52

I'm torn between the Powermax 45 and Cutmaster 52. Price is a concern, but they are both in the same general price range so I'd rather select the better product even if it's a few hundred extra.

The application is for a CNC gantry system which is already built. I will be using a "torch height control". I know both systems have a port built in to accept the connections from the controller and/or THC.

Primarily I will be cutting 3/8" aluminum alloy 6061. Regardless of the brand and model of machine, I will be using a machine torch for the CNC operation, but will want to swap occasionally with a hand torch for manual cutting so a system that includes both a manual torch and machine torch (without having to buy one or the other separately) would be a bonus.

I have 240VAC single phase available in the shop, no three phase.

I'm new to plasma cutting, but know the basics by now, at least in theory. Maybe it's all about the same, but I will need the machine to have the ability to pierce 3/8" aluminum as well as cut it for lengthy periods without stopping. Straightness of the cut and thin kerf width is also important.

If anyone has any input I would appreciate it.

Similar Threads:

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

I'd recommend stepping up to a larger machine, if extended cycle times at high output is anticipated. It will also increase your cut speeds and production. Pay now, or pay later.

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

To BBchevy396_

Thanks for the input. I haven't heard back from Thermal Dynamics yet, but a very helpful contact from Hypertherm assures me that the PowerMax 45 will cut 3/8" Aluminum all day long. I agree however that a higher amperage machine will cut faster. For now, I am limited by the amperage available from the breaker panel as well.