Best Budget CAD/CAM Software

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Best Budget CAD/CAM Software

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default Best Budget CAD/CAM Software

Hi everyone,

I'm still very new to CNC and would like to get some opinions on what you would think to be the best CAD/CAM software for a hobbyist.What I'm looking for is something that's easy to use,good support,lots of reference material to help get me started (tutorials,etc) and cheap as possible.I'm hoping to covert my lathe and mill to CNC and want to get a head start on learning the software side of things.Thanks.

Frank

Similar Threads:

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

I use dolphin cad cam daily and couldnt be happier. While it's no mastercam it still does everything I need plus more. Give it a whirl.

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Dolphin. Does the job.

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

I've been using Rhino4/Rhinocam for about a year. Love Rhino but it does have a learning curve like any software.

Rhinocam does what I need it to but if I were to do it again I would go for Visual Mill which is actually the same as Rhinocam but stand alone.

One thing I like about Rhino is that I find working with solids and surfaces much easier than traditional CAD. Support from McNeel is pretty good and there are some training materials in the form of CDs and books out there in addition to the tutorials that come with Rhino. I found Rhino much easier to learn than Alibre and Bobcad.

I would like to use MasterCam but can't afford it or the training so for me Rhino/Rhinocam is something I'll stick with unless I win Lotto!

Rhino has sort of a cult following and those of us who use it spread the word. I found out about it from another modelmaker who has been using it for about 4 years.

Jack

Downloads
    Uploads

my personal choice for cad is:
    http://www.progesoft.com/index.php?page=home
    and is free for home usage.