Total Newbie question here

Thread: Total Newbie question here

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default Total Newbie question here

I am new to CNC machining and was wondering how a 2-sided relief is completed. Do you mill one side and then flip it? How do you keep the accuracy. Also if the design cuts through the stock completely, what holds the piece in place for the final cuts?

THanks for your time

Similar Threads:

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

There are as many ways to hold parts for two sided machining as there are part designs. Experience will help here. Until you develop your own methods. try posting sketches or e-mailing drawings or photos.

Downloads
    Uploads

Depends on the part, the machine etc.. I use 4 axis machines with a tombstone type fixture.. with which I can do a 6 sided part with only 2 holds. Machine a top face, and the sides... flip to the next hold, machine the bottom face and 2 ends. Very effecient.

Your work holding will determine your accuracy. Generally, you would use a precision machine vise, like Kurt or Dapra or Chic. You can hold tolerances to 4 places with the right setup.

Holding parts gets really tricky. You need a good imagination and a lot of common sense. Some times you can cut jaws to the shape of the part, so you can easily hold/orient it in a vise. Or use a fixture designed specifically for that part. Way too many options here, it will all depend on the part and the machine you're running it on.

Machining is a black art. It will take you a lifetime to learn. The rewards are fantastic. I have parts in space, on planes, in super computers, in radio communications, and in missles/rockets.

99% of everything ever produced in the last 50+ years has something to do with machining. Be it the object itself, the machine that makes it, or the equipment that handles it. Almost everything is related to machining in some way.