New to CNC

Thread: New to CNC

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default New to CNC

I am completely new to CNC. I'm trying to do some woodworking milling with a desktop CNC router I bought. My goal is to use it to cut simple puzzle pieces with the reproducibility of CNC.

I cannot for the life of me find any good resources for education on how to do what I originally thought to be a simple task, and I'm hoping someone here can point me in the right direction. I've downloaded and experimented with Sketchup, to some success. I've drawn a circle, and got my milling program to "cut" it, without any bits in it, just to see if it would do anything. My problem is that the mill wants to start the cutting toolpath out of the physical bounds of the XY axis.

Anyway, someone suggsted Autodesk Fusion 360 because it's supposed to make the drawing, create the toolpaths, and cut, all in one program. My router also came with Art Cam 2007, which I was liking, but it would not generate toolpaths for me, kept go ing up with error messages that weren't in plain English.

Can anyone point me in the right direction on how to learn how to cut simple puzzles? Thanks a bunch. Again, I'm completely new to CNC, and this forum. Thanks.

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Re: New to CNC

Fusion 360 is a full featured pretty much professional CAD/CAM program, and the best part it is FREE to hobbyists. There is a bit of a learning curve, but it will do what you want.

Trying to cut outside the bounds of the X/Y could be that your drawing is metric, and the machine is in inches. Or, you may not have your part located correctly in the CAD program, so 0,0 is way off of the table. Try maybe a 4 inch circle, with 0,0 in the center of the circle. Set the machine 0,0 to the center of the table and see what happens with an air cut.

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Thanks for the ideas, I'll be checking into that this weekend.

Quote Originally Posted by Jim Dawson View Post