Need Help! Suitable CAM package - Anilam Crusader 2

Thread: Suitable CAM package - Anilam Crusader 2

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Suitable CAM package - Anilam Crusader 2

Hi all,

I'm running a Bridgeport Series 1 mill with Anilam Crusader 2 CNC. I appreciate this is an old system, but it still works great and I cannot justify upgrading just yet.

The crusader has an RS232 25 pin port on the rear which I want to connect to the serial port on the computer. I want to be able to convert basic 2D drawings from Solidworks to a suitable CAM package in which I can then feed through to the Crusader 2. I have little experience in the CAM side of things, and the programming of the Crusader has so far been done manually. This is long winded and time consuming.

Can anyone give me some advice in to what software will be compatible with the Crusader 2 and how to go about achieving my goal? I have read about a 'post processor' which converts from CAD to CAM and machine code. How should I go about finding the correct one for my Crusader 2?

Thanks,
    Jim

Similar Threads:

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Re: Suitable CAM package - Anilam Crusader 2

A postprocessor doesn't really do all that. The CAM program translates your drawing into toolpaths; all the post-processor does is customize the toolpath into G-code that's written for your particular machine. Little things like percentage signs before the program or spaces between commands can make the difference between a program that runs correctly and one that just throws out errors. The "post" makes sure it has everything your machine wants.

VisualMill Standard Edition from Mecsoft would do what you want, and there's a version that plugs into Solidworks. If there isn't already a post for the Crusader, Mecsoft will write one for you for free with your purchase; just send them an example of some code that works on it.

[FONT=Verdana]Andrew Werby[/FONT]
    [URL="http://www.computersculpture.com/"]Website[/URL]

Downloads