TurboCad for Mac Computers

Thread: TurboCad for Mac Computers

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default TurboCad for Mac Computers

Greetings everyone:

I've been using TurboCad on my Mac computers for the last few years. I'm presently using TurboCad Mac Pro.

Since I'm self-taught there are alot of features and tricks that I still have no clue how to use.

One of the many things I haven't figured out is how to make the thread pattern on a bolt or screw. I don't know if it's even possible.

What I have been doing is just drawing a helical line around my bolt and just using that as my thread. Looks kind of cheesy and unprofessional but, until I can figure out how to do it correctly I'll just have to keep doing it that way.

I would much rather render my drawings with true thread patterns on my bolts and screws.

Can one of you more experienced TurboCad users give me a clue? If it is possible to do this I'd appreciate your help.

Many thanks.

MetalShavings

Similar Threads:

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

It's been a while since I posted this inquiry.

From the looks of it, I can only conclude two possibilities here; either it cannot be done or, if it can be done, no one here knows how to do it.

Oh well, at least I'm among like-minded TurboCad users.

MetalShavings

Downloads
    Uploads

I don't use TurboCAD, but there are probably a couple ways to do it.

Can you extrude along the helix?

Can you create surfaces between helix's, or polylines?

I've done threads both ways in AutoCAD. Extruding along a helix is how it's done in Solidworks.

Be aware that modelling "real" threads will bring your PC to it's knees jn a hurry, even with high end software.

Gerry

UCCNC 2017 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2017.html

Mach3 2010 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2010.html

JointCAM - CNC Dovetails & Box Joints
    http://www.g-forcecnc.com/jointcam.html