Tormach slant 15 or Precision Mathews 1330CNC

Thread: Tormach slant 15 or Precision Mathews 1330CNC

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default Tormach slant 15 or Precision Mathews 1330CNC

Hello every one,

I have very little cnc experience, but purchased an ACER bedmill with Fagor control about 2 years ago. We use it for prototyping and other general things around the shop. Our shop it not a "for hire" shop, its only purpose is to support our other enterprises. The CNC machine has became more of a hobby than a necessity.

I would like to pick up an affordable CNC lathe. I'm sure some one is going to tell me to just go buy a big huge awesome used production lathe, problem is we're not comfortable buying a used machine that we know nothing about. So, unless you are going to help us buy it, promise that some thing in the control won't die and cost thousands of dollars in the first two day, and then provide technical support after the purchase, that's probably not an option. The lathe would probably get less than 200 hours a year use.

The Tormach Slant 15 looks like a good option in our range, but I noticed the Precision Mathews 1330 CNC lathe. For about the same money it comes with a Siemens 808 control and servos. Its an engine lathe lay out. I'm not exactly sure how big of a problem, if at all, that would be for us. The extra length of the P-M 1330 would also give us more options in the future.

I'm guessing the Tormach will have the best after sale support, and there is obviously a ton of helpful info on this forum for it.

What are your thoughts? Is the P-M steel that bad? I would assume the servos and Siemens control would be a little more robust than the stepper drive of the Tormach.

Here is a link to the PM machine: Page Title

Thanks every one!

-TAB

Similar Threads:

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Re: Tormach slant 15 or Precision Mathews 1330CNC

Matt is a great guy and provides lots of support to his customers.