Tormach Lathe Capabilies Questions + Turret?

Thread: Tormach Lathe Capabilies Questions + Turret?

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default Tormach Lathe Capabilies Questions + Turret?

Hi Guys,

I am looking at Tormach Slant lathe and I would like to ask you whether you think it will work well for this scenario. This will be used to turn some light production work, but tolerances are fairly loose.

So I will be turning diameters from 2.5" to 3" pretty much all the time. Profiling, facing and drilling. Length of piece at most 3" but most about 1.5" and less. Material aluminum and stainless.

Also, I am not yet sold on turret. How useful it is?

Similar Threads:
    Dennis

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Re: Tormach Lathe Capabilies Questions + Turret?

I'm no expert, but it seems to me that gang tooling could be difficult to set up with adequate clearance if you need many tools loaded at once and are turning 2-3-in OD work. On the standard gang tool block, the tool-to-tool distance is around 2" so interference between adjacent tools is possible with work of 2" OD or greater. That wouldn't be a problem with the QC system but then you have to make all or most of your tool changes manually.

On the other hand tool changes with the turret are slower than gang tool changes and my suspicion is that the repeatability of the gang and quick change tooling (especially gang) is a bit better than the turret.

Downloads
    Uploads

If 2.5-3" is the primary diameter you turn, that will limit you quite a bit on how many tools you can install in a gang arrangement. I think turret would work better for you.

Tim
    Tormach 1100-3 mill, Grizzly G0709 lathe, PM935 mill, SolidWorks, HSMWorks.

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Quote Originally Posted by MichaelHenry View Post