Problem Hole Pattern Problem

Thread: Hole Pattern Problem

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Hole Pattern Problem

I'm not a newbie with my 1100 Series III, but this one has me a bit perplexed. I have a jig (see picture) with 9 holes in a rectangular position. They are cut from front to back with a part I made using fusion 360. The problem is that the center three threads are always too small, in that my test gauge fits great in the outer row of holes but is very snug fit in the center ones. They aren't the last ones cut, and the part of modeled in Fusion and is part of a pattern so I am assuming they are all perfectly modeled the same.

Any clues on where I should look into what's going on? It feels more like a fusion 360 issue, but I thought I might bring it up here.

Similar Threads:
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Hole Pattern Problem-20170702_162959-jpg  

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Re: Hole Pattern Problem

How are you putting the holes in? Are you helical milling them with a finish pass? Are you stepping them down with a circular finish pass? Or are you finish boring the holes?

I have learned that I haven't been able to get a hole better than .001 in roundness. If I need it better than that, I'll bore it.

You can buy GOOD PARTS or you can buy CHEAP PARTS, but you can't buy GOOD CHEAP PARTS.

Downloads
    Uploads

I'm first drilling out to 1/2 and then using a bore operation with a 3/8 carbide end mill. The other holes on the outside are spot on. The threads are cut with a single point thread mill.

Downloads
    Uploads