Vibratory Tumbler Suggestions

Thread: Vibratory Tumbler Suggestions

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Vibratory Tumbler Suggestions

I am needing to tumble or vibrate small batches of parts in the coming months and need to look into getting some kind of tumbler or vibratory contraption. Anyone have a suggestion? Media type? (tumbling 6061 and 7075 aluminum)

Similar to: (however John Grimmsmo killed his in pretty short order)
    Shop Tuff 1.25 Cu. Ft. Vibratory Deburring and Finishing Tumbler, Model# STF-18VT | Vibratory Tumblers| Northern Tool + Equipment

Looking for something under $500 if possible.

Similar Threads:
    Awall - The Body Armor Dude
    CoolCNCStuff_ on Instagram - CoolCNCStuff.com

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Re: Vibratory Tumbler Suggestions

You might look at this one from Harbor Freight, I've been using mine for about 3 years and haven't killed it yet. About the size you are looking for.

http://www.harborfreight.com/18-lb-v...ose-96923.html

Downloads
    Uploads

I use a Harbor freight bowl tumbler, the larger one, less than 200 dollars, I dont know how it would hold up using it in a production environment though.

I used coarser media at one point but it left a sanded finish. This is just my very limited experience with surface finish.

edit:

18 Lb. Vibratory Bowl w/ Liquid Drain Hose

mike sr

Downloads
    Uploads

I also have the 18lb HF tumbler. Have used it quite a bit over the last 4 years, but certainly not allday everyday. Have tried the 3 lobe ceramic media and the small green pyramids both from HF. The ceramic leaves kind of a marbled pattern on aluminum, but glass bead blasting will remove it and leave a smooth flat finish. The green pyramids deburr a little more aggressively and don't leave any pattern to speak of.

Downloads
    Uploads