How does Tormach 1100 Accuracy Compare?

Thread: How does Tormach 1100 Accuracy Compare?

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Question How does Tormach 1100 Accuracy Compare?

I'm seriously considering buying a Tormac 1100 but I need help!

I'm a novice machinist but I am an engineer so I looked through Tormach's posted certificate of inspection carefully.

First of all I congratulate Tormach for posting this online as well as a wealth of other informative material. The problem is that no one else does so I don't have anything to compare it to!

Three things bother me somewhat.

First, the spindle runout spec is .o3 mm at 100mm or 1.2 mills at 4".
    The runout spec for my Jet manual mill is 0.8 mills at 12" and my machine measures about 0.5 mills.

The next two questions regard the test block. It looks like they mill out a 6" by 2" block on one of every 20 machines in a batch.

The 'b' spec. parallelism of the top of the block to the bottom is .06mm or 2.4 mills. This doesn't seem very good. Am I wrong?

The 'c' spec. is the perpendicularity of one side to the top and to the other side. This is .06mm over 50mm or 2.4 mills over 2". Again, this seems kind of loose.

How does this compare with the expected performance of a more expensive machine like a Haas?

My eternal gratitude for any feedback from some of you old pro's out there!

Similar Threads:

I do not own a Tormak mill, but the specifications of the test block seem ok to me! If you take in to consideration the end mill is supported on one end only, that the amount of flex and deflection will increase as the feedrate incrases!
    Also, how accurately was the head trammed square prior to running the test?
    The other element to take into consideration is the quality of the endmill! Some endmills have a slight taper even when new!

The only true test to the machines squareness is to sweep the table with a .0001" dial indicator mounted in the spindle!

Eric

Gold Member
    Downloads
    Uploads